Underground Cinema

The Home Of Independent Cinema & Dublins Only Drive In Cinema

2019 Nominees


Best Film - Darren Mahon, Vincent Lambe and Robert Dwyer Joyce

Best Director - Vincent Lambe

Best Actor - Ely Solan

Best Supporting Actor - Will O'Connell

Best Supporting Actress - Tara Breatnach

Best Screenplay - Vincent Lambe

Best Editor - Vincent Lambe & Diarmuid Noyes

Best Cinematography - Patrick Jordan

Best Sound - Michelle Fingleton

Best Production Design - Steve Kingston

Best Costume Design - Belle Phipps

Click here to watch the trailer

The Observer Effect

Best Film - Garret Walsh, Kathy Horgan & Michael Parle

Best Director - Garret Walsh

Best Editor - Daniel Butler

Best Visual Effects - Stephen Bowen & Diarmuid Kelly

Best Production Design - Lilla S. Nurie

Best Sound - Jordan Mullen

Best Score  - Francesco Tresca

Best Make Up - Hannah Sullivan

Click here to watch the trailer 

Low Tide

Best Film - Simon James Doyle

Best Director - Ian Hunt Duffy

Best Actor - Steve Wall

Best Supporting Actor - Luke Lally

Best Cinematography - Narayan Van Maele

Best Score - Garret Averill

Best Production Design - Kate Moylan

Best Visual Effects - Kevin Herlihy

Best Sound - Nikki Moss

Click here watch the trailer 

The Monterrey Express

Best Comedy - Anthony Breatnach

Best Supporting Actress  - Noni Stapleton

Best Editor - Edmond Slattery

Best Cinematographer - Aidan Gault

Best Visual Effects - Malli Bala Yeshwanth

Best Production Design - Damien Crean

Best Costumer Design - Marie Tierney

Best Score - Denis Clohessy

Click here to view the trailer


Best Student Film - Frank O'Malley

Best Actor - Patrick Loftus 

Best Supporting Actor -  Padraic McGinley 

Best Supporting Actress - Sophie Campbell

Best Screenplay - Brendan McCallion & Frank O'Malley

Click here to watch the trailer 

Sons and Broken Noses

Best Comedy - Colin Fleming & Nigel O'Brien

Best Director - Colin Fleming

Best Actor - Eric Lalor

Best Supporting Actor - Robert MacCormack

Best Production Design - Nigel O'Brien & Colin Fleming

Click here to watch the trailer 


Best Student Film - Jack Cowhig

Rising Star Award - Tara O'Callaghan

Best Actress - Shauna Higgins

Best Supporting Actress - Leah Newsome 

Click here to view the trailer 


Best Film - Míchéal Fleming 

Rising Star Award - Michael David McKernan

Best Screenplay -  Michael David McKernan

Best Cinematographer - Burschi Wojnar

Saving Grace

Best Comedy - Siobhan Kavanagh

Best Actress - Maria McDermotteroe

Best Supporting Actress - Helen Roche

Her Name Is

Best Director Claire Byrne & Lydia McGuinness

Best Actress - Lydia McGuinness

Best Cinematography - JJ Rolfe

Click here to play the trailer 


Best Visual Effects Lilla Nurie

Best Score - Orla O'Rourke

Best Sound - Steve Jackson

Mother Father Monster

Best Horror Film - Sean Breathnach

Best Costume Design - Samantha Kennedy & Nomac Productions 

Best Score - Pipes Not Dead

First Disco

Best Comedy - Helen O'Reilly 

Best Costume Design - Joanne O'Brien

Best Make Up - Julie Adam

Play the trailer here 


Rising Star Award - Nigel Mulligan

Best Actress - Sorcha Fay

Best Sound - Tony Kiernan & John  Desay

Lost Memories

Best Actor - Emmet Kelly 

Best Screenplay Emmet Kelly & Eamonn Murphy

Lady Black Eyes

Best Actress - Jordan Jones

Best Screenplay - Niamh Heery

Click here to see the trailer 

The Banshee

Best Horror Film -  Donnacha Gilmore

Best Make Up - Michael Browne

The Owl 

Best Film - Oorlagh George

Rising Star Award - Neil Winterleich


Best Editor - Dara O'Neill and Evin O'Neill

Best Visual Effects - Dara O'Neill


Best International Film

Directed by Joan Bentosela

Disco Dynamite

Best International Film

Directed by Tom Clover

Out Out of Focus

Best International  Film

Directed by Sean Gonet

The Parting Glass

Best International Film

Directed by Cillian O' Donnachadha


Best International Film

Directed by Thomas Pollock


Best Student Film

Directed by Nicki Wade

Pit Stop 

Best Student Film

Directed by Rachel Smyth


Best Student Film

Directed by Isabelle Blanche

When To Fold 'Em

Rising Star Award

Directed by Peter Harris


Best Supporting Actor

Mark Lawrence

Upon The Shore

Best Editor Ian Burke

Best Horror Film

Directed by Konstantinos Stragalinos

Best Horror Film

Directed by Onur Doğan

Best Horror Film

Directed by Caroline Farrell


Directed by Shaun O'Connor

Bad Fruit (The Unheard Voice of the Tuam Babies)

Best Documentary

Directed by Teresa Lavina

1 Billion

Best Documentary

Directed by Dave Thomas

The Sunny Side Up

Best Documentary 

Directed by Peter Kilmartin

The Wrestling Mantra

Best Documentary 

Directed by David O'Neill

The Vasectomy Doctor
Best Documentary
Directed by Paul Webster 

The Shift

Best Make Up

Catherine Biggs

The Switch

Best Make Up

Lisa Hodge & RoisAine Ni Cheallaigh

Fever In May

Best Music Video

Directed by Gary Sheridan and Eoghan O'Brien

Little Jonny

Best Music Video

Directed by Edvinas Maciulevicius

The Parting Glass

Best Music Video 

Directed by Tiernan Williams and John Connors


Don't Let Me Down

Best Music Video

Directed by Mark Smyth

That Day
Best Music Video 
Directed by Natalia Sitnikova

The Family Way

Best Comedy 

Directed by Nuno Bernardo


Nominees Announced in the Royal Marine Hotel Thursday August 15th 



Tickets for the 10th Underground Cinema Award are priced at €70.  Tickets include 4 course dinner, awards ceremony and after show party.  

Dress code is smart casual